Linda Schumann & Tonia Schmitz – Confrontations and Synergies

Warming sunbeams penetrate the noise of the still damp streets of Khulna as our excursion group makes its way through the colorful masses. As artists and environmental engineers, we joined forces in an interdisciplinary project in search of aesthetic forms of expression that are capable of adapting views, values and perspectives to a changing world. The inherent urge of all of us to combine artistic formulations with a scientific catalogue of knowledge carried us out into the world and demanded a mutual understanding of working strategies and thought processes. Collective approaches to solutions, prompting questions and highlighting the field of tension of matter, materials, garbage as well as their effects on man and nature became the driving force and the challenge.

»Confrontations and Synergies« does not show the emergence of such a process idea, but winds its way through the streets and bumpy paths of the coming together of so differently educated and thinking people. Thought thought processes, procedures and ideas for interdisciplinary collaboration in the sense of sustainability are discussed and sometimes meticulously, sometimes timidly vibrantly laid down in drawings placed between graphics and technical drawings; the tracing of the invisible, the abstract, so fruitful and yet frustrating, the making visible of the great volition and perhaps also - of failure.

Our journey bore witness to opposites. Warming evening sun, alternating with pulsating fluorescent light. Never completed buildings faced large posters for fast Internet. An ambivalent sense of space, a symbol for catalytic processes, spread and passed on to our senses.

The monsoon season came too early this year.

Tonia Schmitz, Born 1986 in Luxembourg, lives and works in Erfurt and Weimar
Linda Schumann, Born 1988 in Zwickau (Germany), lives and works in Weimar






We want to thank everyone who helped to make the 18th venue in Erfurt possible!

18. ZNE! Station ERFURT (Germany)


Duration: 28.7.2019 to 22.9.2019

Pictures from the exhibition in Erfurt here!

***

We mourn our friend and benefactor, the artist and philosopher Prince Rudolf zur Lippe, who died on 6 September 2019.

He made thoughts dance and people move.

During the exhibition in Erfurt, which shows works from the cycle "Learning from the Birds" in the church of the Augustinian monastery, he wanted to talk to us about it and how it is linked to Goethe and Alexander von Humboldt.

We will miss him greatly, not only there.

***

*****Join us on facebook******

Linda Schumann & Tonia Schmitz – Confrontations and Synergies

Wärmende Sonnenstrahlen durchdringen den Lärm der noch feuchten Straßen Khulnas (Bangladesh), als sich unsere Exkursionsgruppe ihren Weg durch die bunten Massen bahnt. Auf der Suche nach ästhetischen Ausdrucksformen, die es vermögen, Anschauungen, Werte und Perspektiven einer sich verändernden Welt anzupassen, schlossen wir uns als Künstlerinnen und Umweltingenieure in einem interdisziplinären Projekt zusammen. Der uns allen innewohnende Drang, gemeinsam künstlerische Formulierungen mit einem wissenschaftlichen Wissenskatalog zu verbinden, trug uns hinaus in die Welt und forderte ein gegenseitiges Verständnis der Arbeitsstrategien und Denkprozesse. Kollektive Lösungsansätze, Frageaufforderungen und das Hervorheben des Spannungsfelds der Materie, Materialien, Müll sowie deren Auswirkung auf Mensch und Natur wurde zum Antrieb und zur Herausforderung.

»Confrontations and Synergies« zeigt nicht das Entstehen einer solchen Prozessidee, sondern windet sich durch die Straßen und Holperwege des Zusammenkommens so unterschiedlich ausgebildeter und denkender Menschen. Gedankenprozesse, Abläufe und Ideen zur interdisziplinären Kollaboration im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit werden erörtert und mal akribisch, mal zaghaft vibrierend in Zeichnungen niedergelegt, die sich zwischen Grafik und technischer Zeichnung platzieren; das Aufzeichnen des Nichtsichtbaren, des Abstrakten, so fruchtbar und doch frustrierend, das Sichtbarmachen des großen Wollens und vielleicht auch - des Scheiterns.

Unsere Reise zeugte von Gegensätzen. Wärmende Abendsonne, wechselte sich mit pulsierendem Fluoreszenzlicht ab. Nie vollendete Bauruinen traten Großplakaten für schnelles Internet gegenüber. Ein ambivalentes Raumgefühl, Sinnbild für katalytische Prozesse machte sich breit und übertrug sich auf unsere Sinne.

Die Monsunzeit kam dieses Jahr zu früh.

Tonia Schmitz, geboren 1986 in Luxemburg, wohnt und arbeitet in Erfurt und Weimar
Linda Schumann, geboren 1988 in Zwickau, wohnt und arbeitet in Weimar








Wir bedanken uns bei allen, die die 18. Ausstellungsstation in Erfurt ermöglicht und mitgeholfen haben.

18. ZNE! Station ERFURT


von 28.7.2019 bis 22.9.2019

Fotos der Ausstellungsstation in Erfurt hier!

_________Initiiert vom Beirat zur _____Nachhaltigen Entwicklung in ______Thüringen, unterstützt vom Thüringer Ministerium für Umwelt, ________Energie und Naturschutz
und der __Landeshauptstadt Erfurt

***

Wir trauern um unseren Freund und Stifter, den Künstler und Philosophen Prinz Rudolf zur Lippe, verstorben am 6. September 2019.
"Er brachte das Denken zum Tanzen" und die Menschen in Bewegung.
Während der Ausstellung in Erfurt, die in der Kirche des Augustinerklosters Arbeiten aus dem Zyklus "Von den Vögeln lernen" zeigt, wollte er mit uns darüber sprechen, und was sie mit Goethe und Alexander von Humboldt zu tun hat.
Wir werden ihn nicht nur dabei vermissen.

***

*****Join us on facebook******