Michal Schmidt

Surprised and reluctant, we begin to realize more and more that the bubble we live in, which we have comfortably and safely decorated with European moral values and walls, is leaking. Our truths are crumbling, insecurity and a paranoid fear are spreading. Climate change still seems too abstract for the majority of people, and its catastrophic consequences are hard to imagine. More concrete and simple is the fear of the stranger. The insight – that the social and environmental problems are homemade and correlative – comes hesitantly and the urgency to change our consumption behavior is postponed to tomorrow, leaving responsibility to others. Consequently, we close ourselves off. It is enough if the flow of money and goods remains boundless and free. The main thing, it stays as it is.

The painterly works and conceptual installations of Michal Schmidt, with their realism-oriented, figurative expressive imagery, consist of collage-like pieces of composition and deal with the wide range of human patterns of behavior. Everything is interlinked: time levels, perspectives, narratives; the homogenous is decomposed and the classical pictorial space increasingly dissolved. Sometimes the works are pointedly deliberately striking effect, elsewhere, a sensitive content irritates quite subtle.


It is sad
the world so cruel
and unfair
and nothing
what you could do
against it
he thought,
took knife
and fork
and cut
his five-minute steak
in bite-sized pieces.
Michal Schmidt, 2003






We want to thank everyone who helped to make the 18th venue in Erfurt possible!

18. ZNE! Station ERFURT (Germany)


Duration: 28.7.2019 to 22.9.2019

Pictures from the exhibition in Erfurt here!

***

We mourn our friend and benefactor, the artist and philosopher Prince Rudolf zur Lippe, who died on 6 September 2019.

He made thoughts dance and people move.

During the exhibition in Erfurt, which shows works from the cycle "Learning from the Birds" in the church of the Augustinian monastery, he wanted to talk to us about it and how it is linked to Goethe and Alexander von Humboldt.

We will miss him greatly, not only there.

***

*****Join us on facebook******

Michal Schmidt

Überrascht und widerwillig beginnen wir mehr und mehr einzusehen, dass die Blase, in der wir leben, die wir gemütlich und sicher eingerichtet und mit europäisch moralischen Werten und Mauern verziert haben, undicht wird. Unsere Wahrheiten bröckeln, Unsicherheit und eine paranoide Angst machen sich breit. Der Klimawandel scheint für das Gros der Menschen noch zu abstrakt, seine katastrophalen Folgen schwer vorstellbar. Konkreter und einfacher ist die Furcht vor dem Fremden. Die Einsicht, die sozialen und ökologischen Probleme sind hausgemacht und korrelativ, kommt zögerlich und die Dringlichkeit, unser Konsumverhalten zu ändern, wird auf morgen vertagt, Verantwortung anderen überlassen. Folglich igeln wir uns ein. Es reicht ja, wenn sich der Geld- und Warenstrom grenzenlos und frei bewegen kann. Hauptsache, es bleibt, wie es ist.

Die malerischen Arbeiten und konzeptuellen, installativen Werke von Michal Schmidt mit ihrer am Realismus orientierten, figürlich expressiven Bildsprache bestehen aus collageartig zusammengeführten Versatzstücken und beschäftigen sich mit der großen Bandbreite menschlicher Verhaltensmuster. Alles wird miteinander verschränkt: Zeitebenen, Perspektiven, Erzählungen; Homogenes wird zersetzt und der klassische Bildraum zunehmend aufgelöst. Mal sind die Arbeiten ganz direkt mit bewusst plakativer Wirkung pointiert, an anderer Stelle irritiert ein sensibler Inhalt ganz subtil.

It is sad
the world so cruel
and unfair
and nothing
what you could do
against it
he thought,
took knife
and fork
and cut
his five-minute steak
in bite-sized pieces.

Michal Schmidt, 2003








Wir bedanken uns bei allen, die die 18. Ausstellungsstation in Erfurt ermöglicht und mitgeholfen haben.

18. ZNE! Station ERFURT


von 28.7.2019 bis 22.9.2019

Fotos der Ausstellungsstation in Erfurt hier!

_________Initiiert vom Beirat zur _____Nachhaltigen Entwicklung in ______Thüringen, unterstützt vom Thüringer Ministerium für Umwelt, ________Energie und Naturschutz
und der __Landeshauptstadt Erfurt

***

Wir trauern um unseren Freund und Stifter, den Künstler und Philosophen Prinz Rudolf zur Lippe, verstorben am 6. September 2019.
"Er brachte das Denken zum Tanzen" und die Menschen in Bewegung.
Während der Ausstellung in Erfurt, die in der Kirche des Augustinerklosters Arbeiten aus dem Zyklus "Von den Vögeln lernen" zeigt, wollte er mit uns darüber sprechen, und was sie mit Goethe und Alexander von Humboldt zu tun hat.
Wir werden ihn nicht nur dabei vermissen.

***

*****Join us on facebook******